about us

St. Luke AME Church is a congregation of the African Methodist Episcopal Church in Garland, Texas. It is a part of the Tyler District in the North Texas Conference.

Our Mission

The mission of St. Luke African Methodist Episcopal Church is to minister the love of Jesus Christ our Lord to all people and their spiritual, physical, and social needs as witnesses to God’s grace and goodness.

Our Vision

At St. Luke AME Church, we profess and practice the purpose of God testifying to divine gifts through the means of grace and the works of mercy; that is, to seek out and save the lost, and to serve the needy. The duty of the church is to encourage members to full maturity in faith and service through worship, witness, and work.

Our History

  In 1929, Rev. Grant. Bro. Jim Smizzy, Bro. Alex Turner, and Bro. Culberson Walker, impressed with the praise and worship of the African Methodist Episcopal Church, sought the will of God and AME Church leadership to start a congregation in Garland, Texas. With permission from Presiding Elder E P. Jenkins along with Bishop, a new church in Garland was born. Since they did not have a building for worship services, they met at the Sims Chapel Baptist Church of Garland. In the fall of 1939 , a ground breaking ceremony was held under the direction of Mrs. Lucy Hughes, the state president of the Women’s Missionary Society. The church officers were so impressed with her strong direction and dedication that they named the church in her honor, the Lucy Hughes African Methodist Episcopal Church.
    After years of existence, the AME Church in Garland had a name! The congregation moved into a new building, donated by the Garland Independent School District. It was a small edifice on Fourth Street and our church home for more than 25 years.  During those 25 years we had several strong and dedicated pastors who provided us with spirit-filled guidance and extraordinary leadership. This pastoral legacy began with Rev. Grant and continued with Rev. Jefferson, Rev. Rice, Rev. W. L. Davis, Rev. Stearns and Rev. K. P. Harvey. Serving as assistant pastors with Rev. Harvey were Rev. White and Rev. Ernest Perry. In 1965, Rev. Harvey led the congregation in a move from the Fourth Street edifice to a beautiful brick church at 116 E. Avenue D that also included a parsonage. With this move, the congregation’s name was changed to St. Luke AME Church at the North Texas Annual Conference. Rev. Harvey served the longest tenure as pastor, 24 years.
  In 1980, St. Luke reached the milestone of church ownership by celebrating mortgage liquidation with a “Note Burning Ceremony”. We rejoiced because the building was now ours! The strong leadership of Rev. Harvey made him our most notable, revered pastor. Following Rev. Harvey, the congregation was served as pastor by Rev. C.E. Franklin (interim), Rev. Eddie Reed, Rev. T.J. Shepherd. Serving as assistant pastors with Rev. Shepherd were Rev, Flora Evans and Rev. Josephine Mills Gregory.
  A new era at St. Luke, began with the assignment of Rev. W.L. Brown, ably assisted by Rev. John Fuller. Rev. Bertha Rose and Rev. Kenneth Franklin.  In December 1996, Rev. Brown led the congregation to a second move from 116 E. Avenue D to 521 W. Avenue E. The congregation was blessed  with a church building including classrooms, several offices, a large kitchen, a fellowship hall and the list goes on! Following Rev. Brown, the congregation was served as pastor by Rev. L. R. Emanuel, Sr., Rev. Cecil Youman, Jr., and Rev. Sylvester D. Patton.
  In November 2010, Rev. Dr. Ella Mae McDonald became the first woman pastor of St. Luke. She led a physical revival of church property with a total remodeling of the kitchen, fellowship hall, two offices and a face lift to the outside of the building, as well as the sanctuary. She led a spiritual revival of the congregation with a ministerial staff including Rev. Monica Burks, Rev. William Carlisle, Rev. Harrison Wilson, Rev. Linda Ross, Rev. Mary Darrough, Rev. James Morris, Minister Mia Lewis. Minister Nathan Evans. and Minister Eric Williams.  Also, under Dr. McDonald’s leadership. St. Luke was blessed to have an Intern Minister from Perkins School of Theology. Minister Keela Edwards. Following Dr. McDonald, the congregation was served as pastor by Rev. Dr. Marjorie Hamilton Scott, Rev. Lish K. Burgess, Jr. and Rev. Jasmine Vashti St. Jean. 
  St. Luke, once known as Lucy Hughes AME Church, continues blossom fruitfully in the vineyard of God. Today, our pastor is Rev. Dr. Daryl B. Ingram.

Our Leadership

Rev. Dr. Daryl B. & Dr. Patricia A. Ingram
Pastor & First Lady

Steve Wynn
Steward Board Pro Tem

Douglas Wynn
Trustee Board Pro Tem